• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

excel formula to look to file name with date

Rodrigues

Hi. I'm not sure how to explain this, I need some help please, I have a master file where I'm using below formula, which is extracting data from other files.
The problem is that, one of the source files are saved with same name but with current date for each production day ddmmyy.
I would like to have a below formula where looks for file name (full description) but without having to type the date.

=SUMPRODUCT(--('C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days 120615.xls]A - M'!$A$4:$A$10000=1),'C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days 120615.xls]A - M'!$I$4:$I$10000)
=SUMPRODUCT(--('C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days 130615.xls]A - M'!$A$4:$A$10000=1),'C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days 130615.xls]A - M'!$I$4:$I$10000)
=SUMPRODUCT(--('C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days 140615.xls]A - M'!$A$4:$A$10000=1),'C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days 140615.xls]A - M'!$I$4:$I$10000)

Example of full file name:

Production Log Days 100615
Production Log Days 110615
Production Log Days 120615

So at the moment I have to have amaster file for each date, which is not ideal.

Regards
Rodrigues

=SUMPRODUCT(--(Indirect("'C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days "&A1&".xls]A - M'!$A$4:$A$10000")=1),Indirect("'C:\Users\user\Desktop\[Prod Log Days "&A1&".xls]A - M'!$I$4:$I$10000"))

Where A1 has 120615

Hi Rodrigues ,

There is one issue with the formula ; the file name is not the same in the two places that it has been used ; in the second instance an additional space is required in the text Prod Log Days , after the last s of the word Days ; thus , the corrected formula would be :