• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

Powerpivot : vlookup from Excel into the data model ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lolo

Hello,

I'm new in PowerPivot, and I try to play with CUBE functions.
I have a model with 1 table with 2 000 000 millions of lines, with basically 2 cols (just for the example)

Key Val
Key1 Val1
Key2 Val2
Key3 Val3

From excel, If I input the value 'Key1' in a cell, I just want to display 'Val2' in the cell just after (with a formula of course, like a basic VLOOKUP)

I have tried to use CUBE functions for that, without any success
  • CUBERANKEDMEMBER
  • CUBEVALUE
  • CUBEMEMBER
  • CUBEMEMBERPROPERTY

How would be the best way to achieve this ? Is it possible ?

I know that there is a LOOKUPVALUE DAX function in PowerPivot, but I'm quite sure we cannot use a excel cell/range value into powerpivot formulas, right ?

Thank you.

Not sure what you are after really. Can you upload sample workbook with just small set of data (about 50 rows)? And your expected/desired result.

Without sample, it sounds like the operation should really be done at PowerQuery level before data model is added to PowerPivot.

There, you can set up Named Range to pass parameter to M-Formula to make it dynamic.

For an example: To filter data for just the data matching specific criteria.
First, set named range with all possible unique values for criteria (lstCrit).
Then use that named range as data validation source. Lets say in Cell D1.
Name that cell (Criteria1).

Then use following line in M-Formula in PowerQuery to reference it.

Criteria1 = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Criteria1"]}[Content]{0}[Column1]

Then use Criteria1 as variable in query string.

Edit: Forgot [Content] argument in formula

Last edited: