• Hi All

Please note that at the Chandoo.org Forums there is Zero Tolerance to Spam

Post Spam and you Will Be Deleted as a User

Hui...

• When starting a new post, to receive a quicker and more targeted answer, Please include a sample file in the initial post.

VBA loop for auto launch/ wait / exit of web browser

DjDaddy

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie with almost zero background on programming :)

I'm in need of a program that can automatically in a loop manner launch my web browser (preferably firefox), and exit it after a given time period (preferably 10 seconds).
Someone told me that VBA can do this for me. I would greatly appreciate it, if one of you experts can first of all confirm this possibility. And if that is the case, then it would be great if some one could guide me through or more helpful if some one could just upload a file that could do this task for me :)
I'm using excel 2010 on Win7 and excel 2011 on Mac.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi, thanks for the reply, but it's too technical for me. As I said, I have no background in programming. I'll have to find some one in person I guess. Even if you guys provide me with the actual solution, I would't be able to use it. I was hoping that some one would guide me through or just upload a file that I could simply run it, but apparently it's not that simple.
Another person in another forum suggested the following code, but I have no clue on how to use the code :(
But again, thanks for your time and effort.
Sub myLauncher()

Dim myProgram As Variant
Dim myPath As String 'the location of whatever program you choose

myPath = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
myProgram = Shell(myPath)
Application.Wait (Now + TimeSerial(0, 0, 10)) 'wait 10 seconds
Shell ("taskkill /PID " & myProgram)

End Sub

I had trouble closing FireFox after opening it through Wscript.Shell, but finally got it figured out.

In attached workbook, enter url in Cell B2 and then hit Alt + F8 and run "Test" macro.

Code: